diy back to school supplies: triangle photo collage

hey there! about a week ago I went school supply shopping and purchased myself a plain white binder for english, but it looked a little plain, so I decided that I wanted to jazz it up a bit. I was looking through my pinterest diy board, and found this little diy.

DSC_9444

I thought it looked absolutely adorable, and started looking through my magazines to see what patterns I would want. This was so much fun, I was going through and dog-earing pages to come back to. I love this diy because it’s so customizable to every person. You can choose one color scheme, do all different colors, or look for pretty patterns. This diy is perfect for everyone, because you can design it however you want.

DSC_9439

For the most part, this diy is super easy. The part that was the hardest and took the longest for me was finding the right size of triangles. I tried multiple times before finding the size triangle that I thought was going to look best. The triangles I used were very roughly measured, but the measurements were about 2.25 inches at the top and 2.5 inches on the sides.

materials:

DSC_9442

something to put your collage on, i.e.: a piece of paper, a folder, a notebook, etc., cutouts from a magazine, scissors to cut out pieces of the magazine, a glue stick, mod podge, brush to spread the mod podge, and a container to hold the mod podge in.

let’s get started!

  1. flip through magazines to find things you want to cut out.
  2. cut out the magazine pieces that you like into triangles. (I cut the big triangles out first, glued them down, and saw how large or small the end triangles had to be, then measured them, cut them out and glued them.)
  3. arrange them onto your piece of paper/surface that you will make the collage on.
  4. begin glueing down the triangles with a glue stick.
  5. after all of your triangles are glued down, start to go in with the mod podge. I poured my mod podge into a container, and took some a little at a time and spread it over the collage, section by section.
  6. wait for your collage to dry, about an hour or more.
  7. slip the piece of paper into your binder and begin using it! as you can see, I had to cut my piece of paper down a little bit because I didn’t want to fill it all up with triangles.
  8. enjoy!!

DSC_9445

I honestly love how this binder turned out, and I’m so glad I resorted to this diy instead of just a plain white binder. It adds color to my school supplies, which is definitely a must for me. Plain is just boring, and let me tell you, school is boring enough on its own. I can’t have my supplies boring me two times more! I’ll let you all know how my classmates think about it!

Leave a comment